Last Sunday was the VPRO broadcast "the mountains behind Sochi" in particular "poor Armenia". All responses are great, the poverty in Armenia is the main theme. Watch the video

The Armenians call their country Hajastan, to Haik, the grandsonin third degree of Noah. Armenia has an area of ​​31,200 km² (0.75 x the Netherlands). The capital is Yerevan (about 1.3 million inhabitants). Other large cities are Gyumri (about 149 500 inhabitants) and Vanadzor (about 106 100 inhabitants). The total population amounts to 2.967 million according to a census in 2009. It is a presidential-parliamentary republic.

Religion: Armenian Apostolic Church, Roman Catholic, Russian Orthodox, Protestant. The population consists  96% of Armenians, the rest among other are Russian. The currency is Dram (AMD)Armenia map

The language is Armenian and Russian. Armenian has its own script and the alphabet consists 36 letters. The climate is continental, subtropical (south), alpine  (high mountains).

The capital Yerevan is one of the oldest cities in the world and has been permanently inhabited some 7,000 years. Lying on the border between East and West Yerevan has a touch of Europe and some parts of Asia. The city is divided by the Hrazdan River in to half, a tributary of the Araks.    

By clear weather you can see in  the south  the mythical Mount Ararat (5165 m), a double volcano and unattainable for Armenians. Yerevan is 900 to 1300 m altitude.

Since 800,000 years there live people in Armenia. Already 12 000 years ago the Ararat Valley belonged to the cradle of agriculture, followed by the domestication of livestock and domestic animals and metalworking. This is evidenced by ancient petroglyphs and sanctuaries.

The mountainous nature of Armenia brings a wide variety of landscapes with them by height, steepness of slopes. In Armenia often involves landscape zones, depending on the variation in height on average 1,500 to 2,000 m and above, but also outliers have up to 3700 m. Within the country we distinguish seven natural landscape zones: deserts, semi-deserts, dry steppes, steppes, forests, subalpine and alpine grasslands.

Armenia is in area three-quarters of the Netherlands. It borders not to sea, but is surrounded by Turkey in the west,  Georgia to the north, Azerbaijan in the east and south,  and Iran to the south. The country is divided into 11 'Marzer', which are further divided into 37 provinces.

More than 200 rivers flow through Armenia. The most important is the Araks, which rises in eastern Turkey, flows throug the Ararat Valley and forms in the southwest  the border with Turkey and in the south with Iran. All the river water flows into the Caspian Sea.

The volcanic soil is very fertile. Yet Armenia is not self-sufficient, it must import food. Only 20% of the land is suitable for agriculture, 24% is used for pastures, especially in the north-south-east, only 10% is forest remaining after deforestation. Orchard is very important. The Ararat valley is the center of this.


logo 1


Engel Rafael

engel rafael 2


Go to top